Home Chef Meal #2

“Pork Shumai Meatballs” were on the menu tonight. My first thought, “What the hell is a shumai?” From what I read, shumai is a type of traditional Chinese dumpling, originated from Hohhot, Inner Mongolia. Tonight’s ingredients were ground pork, jasmine rice, sugar snap peas, garlic, green onions, chopped ginger, soy sauce, toasted sesame oil, white rice flour, red pepper flakes, and ponzu sauce.

I didn’t know what ponzu sauce was either. After a quick internet search, I found out that ponzu sauce is a citrus-based sauce, commonly used in Japanese cuisine. It is tart, with a thin, watery consistency and dark brown color. To us, it tasted like soy sauce. And just like a 4-year-old, if you asked me before tonight, I wouldn’t have tried it and I would have said I didn’t like it. I’m not a big fan of either ginger (Picky Point #2) or red pepper flakes (Picky Point #3). I tried getting out of putting the red pepper flakes in, but was outvoted again by the husband. He reminded me that we are stepping out of our comfort zone.

The prep was fairly easy; we both helped with the meal preparation. The one thing we aren’t excelling in yet is having everything done at the same time, so everything is hot on the plate. The rice and peas were a little cold by the time the meatballs were ready.

I initially put the ponzu sauce on the side for dipping, but ended up pouring it on. The meal was pretty good. Not great. After trying it, I can honestly say I’m not a big fan of the ponzu sauce. On the other hand, I didn’t mind the ginger and red pepper flakes.

I consider that progress in pickiness.

My rating: 2/5       Hubby rating: 3.75/5

Leave a Reply

