Blue Apron Meal #2

Seared chicken and mashed potatoes with kale, mushrooms, and verjus blanc was on the menu tonight. Verjus? It is the juice of young wine grapes.

My nose scrunched up when I pulled the ingredients out for this meal, specifically when I pulled out the mushrooms. I don’t like them… at all (Picky Point #8). Kale is not my favorite either, but I can tolerate it. My husband on the other hand thinks all the greens he has ever tried (kale, mustard greens, collard greens, romaine, bibb, and iceberg lettuce) “all taste like grass.” My greens palate is a little, well a lot really, more discerning than his. And I can’t remember the last time I had grass to compare. Maybe when I was seven? It had to have been a dare from my older brother whenever it was.

The husband bought a new fry pan and was pretty excited to test drive it tonight. I made the potatoes and he made the chicken, kale, and mushrooms.

I liked the chicken and the potatoes. What kale I could separate from the mushrooms was palatable. I did officially try one mushroom, but the rest went to the hubby who scarfed them down like a starving kid.

My rating: 3.5/5 (for the chicken and the potatoes)     Hubby rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

